When Joseph of Arimathea came to Glastonbury with the blood and the sweat of Jesus, he and his
12 disciples built a settlement of 12 little round huts and a round wattle church in the centre, this is
where later the Mary Chapel was built.
St. Mary’s Chapel dates from 1186 and is the best preserved of the ruins of the great Abbey. In its crypt you can see the St. Joseph Well, also reputed to have healing powers, but it is now closed off for safety reasons. Services are still held in the crypt of this chapel.
Glastonbury Cathedral was one of the largest in the land, which is understandable, when it was built to commemorate the arrival of Christianity in England. The ruins are well explained.
One gem of a building left intact is the Abbot’s Kitchen, which has the most exquisite acoustics.
Saint Patrick’s Chapel is an almshouse chapel still in use today.
The grounds are laid out with an old apple orchard, the Abbots Fish Pond and rare trees.
Small museum entrance with finds form the old abbey.
The great ley-lines, the Mary and the Michael both wind their way through the Abbey Grounds, and cross on the way.
See more on:
Glastonbury Abbey homepage
The grave of King Arthur
Info on Wikipedia
Mary's Chaple south door